We acknowledge Australia’s First Nations People as the Traditional Owners and Custodians of the land, and pay respect to the Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, upon whose Country SFF are based.
We honour the storytelling and culture of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities across Australia.

Official Competition

The Official Competition celebrates those rare but thrilling films that truly move the art form forward.

Innovative, provocative or controversial, they broaden our understanding of the world and say important things in original ways.

The previous Sydney Film Prize winners are: Parasite (2019), The Heiresses (2018), On Body and Soul (2017), Aquarius (2016), Arabian Nights (2015), Two Days, One Night (2014), Only God Forgives (2013), Alps (2012), A Separation (2011), Heartbeats (2010), Bronson (2009) and Hunger (2008).

The Sydney Film Prize is presented at SFF’s Closing Night awards ceremony at the State Theatre.

  • Films/Events
  • Jury
  • Sort A-Z
  • Sort by Date
Kyas Hepworth
Maya Newell
Simon Baker
Clara Law
David Michôd, Jury President
Clear Cart

Your in cinema cart is empty.

View over 500 sessions to find the right films and events for you!

Browse In Cinema Program

Check out our list of films showing in your area

Browse Films

Donate Today
Help us bring you the best in cinema worldwide.
Booking Fee

Your planner helps you schedule your entire SFF experience. It shows sessions you've saved, purchased or added to your cart in a helpful timeline.

Sign in or register to save your planner!

Your planner is empty.

Use your planner to create your own unique SFF Experience

Browse Films & Events