Lexus Australia Short Film Fellowship

The Lexus Australia Short Film Fellowship is the largest cash fellowship ($200,000) for short film in Australia. The Fellowship aims to develop and foster new talent by allowing writer director filmmakers to be assessed by key industry figures and premiere their work at Sydney Film Festival. The Fellowship provides a launching pad for the careers of emerging Australian talent and ultimately contributes to the longevity of the medium, and the Australian filmmaking industry.

2018 Lexus Australia Short Film Fellowship

Submissions for the 2018 Lexus Australia Short Film Fellowship have now closed. For any related questions, contact SFF Industry & Guest Manager, Lisa Kitching at

The jury of industry luminaries will announce the four new successful Fellows on Tuesday 12 June. Each new Fellow will receive $50,000 to make their next short film, which will World Premiere at the Sydney Film Festival in 2019.

Presiding over the selection process as Jury Chair is renowned Australian actress Marta Dusseldorp. She is joined by Sydney Film Festival Director Nashen Moodley, Lexus Australia’s Vin Naidoo, Australian producer Greer Simpkin (Sweet Country) and President of the Australian Directors’ Guild Samantha Lang.

Launched in 2015, the Fellowship is presided over by an industry jury, which was chaired by celebrated Australian actress Judy Davis in its first year. Other jury members were Sydney Film Festival Director Nashen Moodley, Lexus Australia’s Adrian Weimers and Australian producers Jan Chapman AO and Darren Dale. In its second year, the Fellowship jury was chaired by leading Australian actor David Wenham. Other jury members were Nashen Moodley, Lexus Australia’s Vin Naidoo and Australian producers Kath Shelper and Sandra Levy AO.

The inaugural Fellows had their first short films premiere at the 2017 Sydney Film Festival. Red Ink by Alex Ryan, How the Light Gets In by Anya Beyersdorf, Snow by Alex Murawski and Outbreak Generation by Brooke Goldfinch screened at the Lexus Australia Short Film Fellowship Gala, and were also screened as part of the program at the State Theatre.

The 2017 Fellows Short Films will be screened at SFF 2018.

Meet the 2017 Lexus Australia Short Film Fellows

For the second year, four Fellowship winners each received $50,000 to produce their next short film, to premiere at the Sydney Film Festival in 2018.

Emily Avila

Goran Stolevski

Lara Kose

Thomas Baricevic

“The Fellowship is a significant investment in filmmakers looking to bring their next groundbreaking project to life,” Jury Chair David Wenham said.

“The Fellowship is about discovering new voices and ideas that keep art forms moving forward at the local level, and just one example of how we invest in fostering creativity and emerging talent,” Vin Naidoo, Corporate Manager of Lexus Australia said.

Presented by


Your cart is empty.

View over 500 sessions to find the right films and events for you!

Browse Program

Check out our list of films showing in your area

Browse Films

Booking Fee
Support SFF

Your planner helps you schedule your entire SFF experience. It shows sessions you've saved, purchased or added to your cart in a helpful timeline.

Sign in or register to save your planner!

Your planner is empty.

Use your planner to create your own, unique SFF experience

Browse Films & Events