Lexus Australia Short Film Fellowship

The shortlist has been announced for the 2017 Lexus Australia Short Film Fellowship, the largest cash fellowship ($200,000) for short film in Australia.

For the second year, up to four Fellowship winners will receive $50,000 each to produce their next short film, to premiere at the Sydney Film Festival in 2018. 

An independent panel has selected 20 finalists to submit entries to be judged by the 2017 Lexus Australia Short Film Fellowship Jury. The winning Fellows will be announced during the 2017 Sydney Film Festival.

Australian screen icon Judy Davis who chaired the 2016 Lexus Australia Short Film Fellowship Jury said, “The Fellowship offers an incredible investment in nurturing the next generation of Australian film industry achievers.  It was an honour to be involved in selecting the four winners of the Fellowship last year: Anya Beyersdorf, Brooke Goldfinch, Alex Murawski and Alex Ryan, who are in the process of creating four incredibly exciting films to premiere at the 2017 Sydney Film Festival.”


The shortlisted filmmakers are:

Alexander Giblin
Beth Armstrong
Dane McCusker
Sam Gosper
Rueben Field
Sunday Emerson Gullifer
Arthur Angel
David Hansen
Ellen Richardson
Frank Margee

Goran Stolevski
Isaac Elliott
Lara Kose
Oran Franco
Thomas Baricevic
Victoria Thaine
Dane Hansen
Emily Avila
Josh Tanner
Sean Meehan


What the Fellowship means to the shortlisted filmmakers:

“It’s a rare thing to find a company that will support the arts and particularly filmmaking in this way…extremely valuable for Australian culture and for the future of filmmaking” – Beth Armstrong

“It’s incalculable, what that funding would do for the film…the possibility of my short film premiering at the Sydney Film Festival honestly, it’s quite humbling. Just the idea of having my idea be accepted into the Lexus Fellowship is rewarding in itself” – Sam Gosper

 “It would just make a world of difference really” – Alexander Giblin

Find out more

2017 Lexus Australia Short Fellowship shortlisted candidates - Sunday Emerson Gullifer, Alexander Giblin, Beth Armstrong, Sam Gosper and Dane McCusker - chat to us about what it would mean for them to win the Fellowship. 

Two of our 2016 Lexus Australia Short Film recipients - Alex Murawski and Anya Beyersdorf - talk to us after being announced the winners. 


Presented by

Lexus Australia Short Film Fellowship logo

Pictured (left-right): 2016 Lexus Australia Short Film Fellowship recipients Alex Murawski, Anya Beyersdorf, Brooke Goldfinch and Alex Ryan.