Sydney Film Festival Award Winners Announced at Closing Night Gala


Ildikó Enyedi's film came out triumphant over the other 11 films in the 10th anniversary Official Competition, and director and screenwriter Ildikó Enyedi was on hand last night to accept the Sydney Film Prize and $60,000 in cash, awarded for the year's most 'audacious, cutting-edge and courageous' film.  

The winners of the Documentary Australia Foundation Award for Australian Documentary and the Dendy Awards for Australian Short Films also collected their awards and cash prizes at last night's 64th Sydney Film Festival Closing Night Gala.

The Documentary Australia Foundation Award for Australian Documentary's $10,000 cash prize was awarded to director Sascha Ettinger Epstein and producer Claire Haywood for their documentary The Pink House, about the last brothel in old mining town Kalgoorlie.

In the Dendy Awards for Australian Short Films categories, the $7000 cash prize for the Dendy Live Action Short Award went to Adele, directed by Mirene Igwabi, while Sunday Emerson Gullifer was Highly Commended for her short film Tomorrow, and tomorrow, and tomorrow. And Daniel Agdag's animation Lost Property Office cleaned up, by taking out both the $7000 Rouben Mamoulian Award for Best Director and the $5000 Yoram Gross Animation Award.

The Event Cinemas Australian Short Screenplay Award, a $5000 prize for the best short screenwriting, was awarded to Michael Cusack, the writer and director of stop motion animation After All, while the writers of Screenability short film The Milky Pop Kid, Johanna Garvin and Emily Dash, were Highly Commended. And the $10,000 Sydney-UNESCO City of Film Award, bestowed by Create NSW to a trail-blazing NSW-based screen practitioner, goes to Indigenous Australian actor, director and writer Leah Purcell.

Congratulations to all of the winners and all of the finalists - and our thanks to you, the audience, for making this the best Sydney Film Festival yet!